Year 8 Football

Year 8’s bounce back as Hickey makes Hay against Aylesford.

After a disappointing 6-2 loss against title chasing Myton ( scorers Oli H. and James P. MOM: Sam H.), the squad knew they had to perform better as individuals, ( by cutting out on individual errors), and as a team by improving patterns of play.

After a good training session, Southam yr 8 did just that in the first half away at a dreary night in Warwick. Good movement and hard work resulted in a 20yd ‘chip come shot’ from James P. in the 7th minute that hit the back of the net for a deserved lead. Paul H. then took advantage of poor defending by hammering the ball into the top of the net. This was followed up 11 minutes later by an absolute sublime chip over the keeper by Paul – what a finish! Southam had several more chances but the ball ran away from them on a fast running astro. Cruising at half time 3- 0 up, with Callum S. looking imperious at the back Southam had several chances to finish off their rivals but did not react quick enough or the ball ran away from them.
Shockingly after a poor clearance at a corner Southam conceded with 15 minutes to go and a minute later a well fed ball from Aylesford they went to 3-2 and the opposition’s tails were up. A corner with 5 to go saw a rather strange hand ball and the writing looked on the wall, but a full length diving save from a much improved and confident Xian L. saw the game saved. Even then Southam could and should have scored more. Man of the match was the captain of the day Paul H. and the champagne moment was the brilliant save by Xian. Well done to all the squad. Training on Monday. Keep it up lads.

Final score Aylesford 2 Southam 3
A relieved Mr. Elkerton

Girls Rugby Festival

Yesterday, students from years 7, 8 & 9 went to play rugby, coached by Wasps coaches and England women’s rugby team members.
The girls were given opportunity to develop their skills of passing, driving onto the ball and moving play forward. As they went through the circuit and got advice from the experienced coaches, the girls were able to learn more about rugby than they’d previously known.
The teams were able to play some touch rugby games against other schools once the coaching had finished and this is where the Southam girls showed their natural talents. After an enjoyable time spent playing the students were now equipped with the skills to move forward in the season.
Thank you to Olivia Constable and Poppy Lummis for coming along to support and help coach and well done to all of the girls who attended – exciting things to come in the next few months!
Miss MacLachlan and Mrs Turton
Well done girls – it looks like we are going to have yet another Red Roise international playing for England soon! Mr Elkerton Dir. Rugby
Screen Shot 2019-01-10 at 08.50.03.png

Everything you need to Know about Southam College